Target Margin Theater Announces TMT Institute Fellows

2/9/2017 11:36am

As part of their 25th Anniversary Season, Target Margin Theater (David Herskovits, Artistic Di; Sarah Hughes & Moe Yousuf, Co-Artistic Producers) has announced the 2017 TMT Institute FellowsCB Goodman, Ayun Halliday, Brian Lawlor, Aaron Minerbrook, and Anthony Wills, Jr. These are five artists who have demonstrated a serious commitment to making theater and share a deep connection to TMT’s principles. The Institute is a year-long fellowship (January – December) that harnesses Target Margin Theater’s history of nurturing emerging talent, providing a $1,000 stipend, support, and space for Fellows to challenge themselves and their art-making practices. It is a place for open-ended questioning and experimentation within, and at, the edges of the form of theater. The core goal will be to rigorously question assumptions about what the theater is, what it could be, and what we would like it to be. In their time at the 2017 TMT Institute, Fellows will take part in structured weeklong intensive workshops led by David Herskovits and other Associated Artists; focused experimentations to challenge and test the limits of theatrical form; adventures to explore the cultural range of New York City, ranging from neighborhood encounters to major institutions; and regular breakfasts to share work and develop opportunities for collaboration. Press contact: DKC/O&M Co (212/695-7400)